Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX



Officials from Jacksonville College help break ground Saturday for new student residence halls at 330 Kickapoo Street. The project calls for three one-story units to be constructed behind Norman Library; each 4,200-square-foot facility will house 20 students, said college public information director David Heflin. On hand for the groundbreaking ceremony were, from left: Jacksonville College Dean of Students Ken Rawson; Board of Trustees members Steve Williams, Robbie Caldwell, Jan Brazier, Richard Smith and Greg Starr; President Mike Smith; Board members Ken Perkins, Tony Murray, James Schoenrock, Steven McCeig and Charlotte Johnson; Business Officer David Pittman; Board member Lee Welch, Academic Dean Lynn Nabi, Board member Jack Cook, and architect Larry Lassiter.