Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

March 28, 2013

PROGRESS REPORT: 54 Jacksonville High School students inducted into honor society

Jacksonville Daily Progress


On Monday, the Jacksonville High School Osborn-Boles Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 54 new members for the2013-2014 school year.

For the first time since 2006, the Society inducted incoming juniors. The newly inducted class consists of 21 incoming juniors and 33 incoming seniors.

Inductees must display four specific qualities:  scholarship, leadership, service, and character.  The first requirement, scholarship, is met when a student earns a GPA of 90 or above.   Inductees meet the remaining three requirements during the application and selection process.

Once a part of NHS, students are responsible for participating in the chapter service project and an individual service project of at least 10 hours.  This year's chapter service project included the option of participating in UIL Academics or the after-school program at Fred Douglass Elementary or serving as an AVID-trained peer tutor for students of JHS.

The individual service projects included church mission work or volunteer work with local non-profit organizations.

Incoming Junior Inductees:

Jessika Alvarez, Joshua Ambroson, Cameron Brown, Tasheena Canady, Emilio Chavira, Aspen Fisher, Dustin Haltom, Samantha Hammock, Yessenia Hernandez, Samantha Jackson, Lindsay Johnston, Samantha Lee, Brenna Leone, Kylie Levett, Shyia Magan, Gerardo Mares, Lorena Mireles, Parastoo Nikravesh, Hailey Pogue, Callie Reagan, and Janzen Terry.

Incoming Senior Inductees:

Timothy Boseman, Daenna Calderon, Samuel Casey, Kennison Chambless, Gwendolyn Colvin, Kelly Cook, Kelley Crosby, Elizabeth Day, Maria Delgado, Fallon Dowling, Gentry Hammons, Briana Hogg, Nichole Johnson, Rani Johnson, Allison Jones, Holley Jones, Mayra Martinez, Yarely Martinez, Brackson McKnight, Maria Mireles, Ryan Morrison, Ruby Moya, Jacob Norris, Abigail Rico, Yessenia Rico, Cruz Rocha, Andrew Rock, Christian Roper, Justin Stewart, Rachel Stirneman, Alexia Stubblefield, Jordan Terry, and Ryan Travis.