Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

December 11, 2013

Filing closes for election primaries

3 Dems, 20 Republicans file in Cherokee County

Ben Tinsley
Jacksonville Daily Progress

CHEROKEE COUNTY — A total of three Cherokee County Democrats and 20 Republicans -- including surprise judicial appointee Kelley Peacock -- have filed for positions on the March 4, 2014 primary ballots, it was confirmed Monday.

In a final tally submitted by County Democratic Chairman Caesar A Roy, veteran  justice of the peace Vera Foreman filed for reflection to  Precinct 4. Political newcomer Kenneth D. Cain filed as the Democratic challenger for Precinct Commissioner, and Craig D. Caldwell filed, unchallenged, for county Democratic Party chair.

The candidates to replace Craig Fletcher as county court at law judge topped the local GOP's final primary filings.

Kelley Peacock, the former county attorney who was appointed by county commissioners Monday to replace the departed Fletcher was at the top of the list, opposed by Daniel Boone Childs and Janice Crosby Stone.

Tammy Blair, meanwhile, had filed as a Republican to run against incumbent Chris Davis for Cherokee county judge.

Incumbent Janet Gates will run unopposed for district clerk, as will county clerk Laverne Lusk.

Murray Smith is challenging incumbent Patsy Lassiter for county treasurer. Incumbents Brenda Dominy and Tony Johnson are unopposed for their respective offices of precinct 1 and precinct 2 justice of the peace.

James Morris has filed to run against incumbent Phillip Grimes for Precinct 3 Justice of the peace.

Rodney Wallace and Steven Norton will remain unopposed for JP precinct 4 and commissioner precinct 2.

But incumbent Byron Underwood faces the challenge of Glyn A. Dotson for precinct 4 Comissioner.

Incumbent Carl Wayne Morgan also runs opposed, as Matt Hunt challenges him for the Cherokee position of county surveyor.

Finally, Karen Morris will run unopposed for chairman of the Cherokee County Republican Party, current chair Jerry Rix confirmed Monday in the GOP's final election tally.