Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Local News

July 9, 2013

Mayor and two councilmen to be sworn back into office at tonight’s meeting

JACKSONVILLE — When the Jacksonville City Council convenes Tuesday evening, newly re-elected mayor Kenneth Melvin will be sworn back into office, followed by Councilmen Bill McDonald and Hubert Robinson.

Melvin defeated challenger Rob Gowin during a June 11 runoff election, garnering 586 votes to Gowin's 510.

The runoff was necessary because of the results of the original, May 11 election – a three-way race between Melvin, Gowin and challenger William Igbokwe. That race attracted nearly 1,000 voters to the polls.

The results were a basic tie between incumbent Melvin and  Gowin – necessitating the June runoff.  

During that first election, Gowin attracted the majority of the votes, 426 ballots cast, to Melvin's 389 and Igbokwe's 147, according to results.

To have won the election outright, one of the candidates would have had to attract more than 50 percent of the votes cast.  But since there was no clear majority, a common occurrence in such races, a runoff  was held between Gowin and Melvin, the two candidates with the most votes.

And Melvin was the victor.

Once sworn in by City Secretary Betty Thompson, the mayor will swear in Councilman Bill McDonald, who defeated challenger Phil Huttash in the District 3 council election in May, 277 votes to Huttash's 194.

The mayor also will swear in District 1 Councilman Hubert Robinson.

Robinson filed for reelection but was proclaimed the winner without participating in an actual race because he was unopposed.

Text Only
Local News