Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Local News

October 21, 2013

Commissioners re-appoint Bauer to groundwater conservation board

RUSK —  Bart C. Bauer of Jacksonville, the long-standing president of the Neches & Trinity Valleys Groundwater Conservation District, was re-appointed this week to another four-year term as Cherokee County's official representative to the organization.

Bauer, 41, first was elected president of the district years ago — a few months after his predecessor, Sue Harris, resigned in June, 2007.  

Bauer is listed as the engineering supervisor for the Rusk-based Cherokee County Electric Cooperative Association on that company's website.

His reappointment came Tuesday, when Precinct 1 Cherokee County Commissioner Kelly Traylor made the motion to do so, which was seconded by Precinct 4 Commissioner Byron Underwood. The vote in Bauer's favor was unanimous.

Neither a member of the Cherokee County Commissioners Court nor Bauer himself could be reached to offer further comment on the reappointment Friday.

In a 2008 interview, Bauer stated his  enthusiasm for the work of the district.

"We are a board made up of people from all walks of life, but we are all here with the common goal of protecting our water, and I am looking forward to serving," he said in that previous meeting.

The mission statement of  the conservation district is to implement an efficient, economical and environmentally sound management program for groundwater — and, ultimately, protect and enhance the water resources of the aquifers in the district.

The district is charged with registering all water wells, considering applications for drilling and operating permits, and regulating production from non-exempt wells.

The district, which publishes "WaterWord," a downloadable newsletter, also monitors acquirer levels, offers water conservation education outreach to schools and encourages water conservation to the public.

The district board generally holds its meetings (although always subject to change) at 1:30 pm on the third Thursday of each month at the District office,  212 S. Main St. in Jacksonville.

Text Only
Local News
  • Christian Rapper 0419.tif Local rap artist spreads the 411 on Jesus

    "I have seen things in my life that would make Dr. Phil crazy," Jacksonville native, ordained minister and aspiring rap artist Stephen I. Crow Jr. said with a laugh. "That's why I don't label my music specifically as "Christian rap" -- yes, Christians who love rap can listen and hopefully be uplifted, but I truly want and am trying to bring the word and Jesus' message to people who may never have heard it or don't believe it's for them.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Tomato Bowl flushed to bottom of priorities

    The historic Tomato Bowl, built in 1940, stands strong on the outside, but according to some people the inside needs a lot of work in order to not be an eyesore.

    April 19, 2014

  • Cherokee County arrest: April 8-14

    The Daily Progress will publish a list of arrests from the Cherokee County Sheriff's Office on a weekly basis.

    April 19, 2014

  • Jacksonville College, high schools team up to offer dual credit program

    Jacksonville College is currently offering qualifying high school juniors and seniors attending Jacksonville and New Summerfield ISDs and The Brookhill School in Bullard the opportunity to get head start on their higher education.

    April 18, 2014

  • JISD board members to consider district strategic plan

    The Jacksonville ISD Board of Trustees will meet at 6:30 p.m. Monday, April 21, to discuss a district strategic plan and consider buying new band uniforms.

    April 18, 2014

  • 2 men arrested after standoff in grocery store

    Two men were arrested early Wednesday morning after a standoff at the B&B Foods in Alto.
    According to Alto Police Chief Jeremy Jackson, a person reported seeing two black males at the store just before 3 a.m. Wednesday.

    April 17, 2014

  • Some area entities closed for holiday

    Many area offices and businesses will be closed Friday in observance of Good Friday and Easter.

    April 17, 2014

  • Dispatcher Enge 0416.tif JPD dispatcher killed in wreck

    A dispatcher for the Jacksonville Police Department was killed Monday on her way to work, according to officials.
    Amber Enge, 35, of Whitehouse was pronounced dead at the scene of a one-vehicle wreck Monday afternoon on CR 2177 in Whitehouse.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • CR speed limit changes, E-filling fee top agenda

    On Monday, Cherokee County commissioners set April 28 to hold public hearings concerning the changing speed limits on two county roads.

    April 16, 2014

  • Catherine look.tif Religious lines drawn: Protesters met by members of Church of Wells

    Other than a few community members' voices that rose above the crowd, the protest Saturday against the Church of Wells remained peaceful.

    April 15, 2014 3 Photos