Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

February 12, 2014

Area candidates continue to file for city, ISD seats

Jo Anne Embleton
Jacksonville Daily Progress

CHEROKEE COUNTY — Candidates continue to add their names as candidates for municipal and school board elections planned this May in Cherokee County.

They can file candidacy for seats on their local city councils and school boards until 5 p.m. Feb. 28, according to election laws. Elections are slated in May.

Only Dist. 2 incumbent Jeff Smith and local attorney Arron Swink – who is seeking the Dist. 4 Council seat – have filed for the Jacksonville municipal elections, while in local school board races, Place 3 incumbent Jimmy Brown has filed for re-election.

The Place 4 JISD trustee spot – held by James Houser – has attracted two candidates: Jacksonville city councilwoman and former school board trustee Ann Chandler, and Cassie Devillier.

City officials report that no one has filed

candidacy in contests for Alto City mayor nor three seats on the Alto City Council. Mayor pro tem El Thacker filled a vacancy last year when then-Mayor O.T. Allen stepped down from the position. Meanwhile, incumbents Britton Tilley and Lionel Whitaker have filed for re-election of their seats on the Alto school board.

Bullard city officials also report no filings for any of the three spots on the local city council that are up for grabs – seats currently held by Shirley Coe, Melissa Sikes and Mark Maple. In the BISD trustee race, no candidates have filed for the Place 2 seat, although Place 1 incumbent Tony Johnson has filed for re-election, as has Place 3 incumbent Richard Burrow. Dr. John Alexander also has filed for the Place 3 seat.

In New Summerfield, no one has announced candidacy for council seats currently held by Billy Hall and Don Williams; however, school board president Michael Davis has filed for re-election to the local school board. His is one of two seats up for grabs this may.

Reklaw Mayor Harlan Crawford has filed for re-election in the local municipal race, while no candidates have declared intentions for the Alderman #3 seat held by Betty Jackson nor the Alderman #5 seat held by Bob Parrott.

Incumbent Rusk city council members

Don Jones, Dist. 3, Don Woodard, Dist. 4, and Sam Florian, Dist. 5, have filed for re-election, according to city officials. In local school board contests, attorney Frank G. Dobrovolny has filed for candidacy in a race that fills an unexpired two-year-term to which David Fulton was appointed after board member Dana Young stepped down to assume an interim position as the Cherokee County Attorney.

Meanwhile, no candidates have yet filed for either of the two three-year positions on the school board.

Incumbent candidates John Whitsell – mayor of Troup – and Place 2 Troup Council member Joe Carlyle and Place 5 Council member Carole Wilson, each have filed candidacy for the local municipal election.  Three positions are open on the Troup ISD board – Place 1, held by Andy M. Griffin Jr.; Place 2, held by Melissa Young; and Place 3, held by Bill Plunkett. Only Griffin has filed his candidacy thus far, according to school officials.

No filings have been posted for candidates seeking the Wells mayoral seat – held by C.W. Williams – nor for three council seats held by Robert Kalka, Billie Petty and Rex Aycock. In local school board races, incumbents T. Wayne Montes and Donnie Carver have filed their candidacies.