Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

April 11, 2014

5 receive scholarships from Chamber’s Agri-Business Committee

Press release
Jacksonville Daily Progress

CHEROKEE COUNTY — The Agri-Business Committee of the Jacksonville Chamber recently awarded five $1,000 scholarships at the Annual Cherokee County Junior Livestock Show on March 29. County Extension Agent Aaron Low presented the five Hay Show Scholarship recipients a certificate of award. Accepting their awards are Ashlea Crosby, Austin Essex, Christian Holman, Alexandria Husbands and Kaitlyn Hutson.

The scholarships are made possible through the annual Hay Show & Sale held in October.                                                                                                              The 2014 Annual Hay Show and Sale will be held Tuesday, Oct. 21. The Hay Show & Sale collects hay samples from Cherokee County hay producers and the top 30 bales of hay are auctioned raising scholarship funds for the youths of Cherokee County.

Serving on the Agri-Business Committee are Roland Adams & Charles Dickerson, Co-Chair, Debbie Kerzee (Community Development Division Chair), Kris Sturrock (Chair of the Board), Tam Nannen (Chair Elect of the Board) and committee members Aaron Low, Randy Gorham, David Butler, Bruce Mehlenbacher and Bryon Underwood.