Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

July 23, 2011

Just ask Janet

JACKSONVILLE — This week I want to tell you about a local photo contest coming up soon.

As you probably know this paper partners with the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce on the Chamber’s annual membership magazine.

This year, the Chamber has decided to hold a photography contest for the cover of the 2012 issue.      Anyone can submit photos to the contest. Each photo submitted must be an 8x10 and it must be framed. It must also be submitted with the entry form, fully filled out. There is no entry fee. All photos become chamber property and the chamber reserves the right to use any and all photos submitted. Any photo used after the contest will receive recognition through the chamber. Photos can be submitted at the chamber office, 526 E. Commerce, in downtown Jacksonville, across from the historical Tomato Bowl.

Submission dates are Sept. 19-23, but you must have your entries in by noon on the 23rd. Judging will take place at 2 p.m. on the 23rd and the winner will be announced during the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce Board of Director’s meeting on Monday, Sept. 26 at noon.

The first place photo will be used as the cover for the Chamber of Commerce 2011 Membership Magazine with an article. The second and third place photos will be included in the magazine with a caption.  

So get out there and get to snapping those photos. I have no doubt there will be a lot of amazing entries and it will be hard to pick the finalists and a winner.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Hoisting flags and honoring family

    While searching our syndicated columns to fill this space, I realized ... it's probably time for me to say a few things.
    A lot has been happening lately, professionally and personally.

    April 18, 2014

  • Local reviews ‘Tomato Republic’

    On April 9, I had the privilege and pleasure of seeing the world premiere of The Tomato Republic, a documentary movie about the 2013 Jacksonville, Texas, mayoral election. The film was entered in the Dallas Film Festival within the Texas subjects division.

    April 15, 2014

  • Don’t do it yourself

    After years of fooling with just about every do-it-yourself project imaginable, I finally came to a startling conclusion. Just about everything I can do for myself, or think I can, somebody else can do for me faster and better and cheaper as well. Starting at an early age, I tried to learn every known skill in order to become independent. The heartache and frustration resulting from such a stubborn urge knew no bounds.

    April 5, 2014

  • When push comes to Shuve

    Ever been to Shuve, Louisiana? Don’t feel like you’re by yourself. Lots of folks have never even heard of it, much less been there.

    March 1, 2014

  • The spice of life: Some seasonings have benefits

    In the 15th century, Europe was in search of the spice of life.  For them, salt was not enough.  They also wanted cinnamon, pepper, cumin, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  It was for spices that the Portuguese sailed around the southern tip of Africa to reach India.  During this time a pound of Ginger was equal in value to one live sheep.

    February 26, 2014

  • President’s Day celebrates leader who built country’s foundation

    This month we celebrate President's Day. George Washington, who is also known as the "Father of our Country,” is one that I admire the most.

    February 7, 2014

  • CVS tobacco decision gives hope

    Just as I was starting to think money ruled the world and everything in it, a national giant makes a move that will cost them $2 billion in annual revenue.

    February 6, 2014

  • The bra: Friend or foe?

    This is a nod to Women Inventors Month; not the best-known observance on the calendar, but worthy of recognition nevertheless.

    February 1, 2014

  • Chocolate and chilies contain vast health benefits

    February is a good month to talk about chocolate.  For most of us, chocolate means dessert, but it can also be an ingredient in savory dishes.  For example the flavorful mole sauce from the Mexican tradition is a different way to work in some healthy dark
    chocolate.

    January 29, 2014

  • Hard work and shining light on dark corners

    Newsrooms of today may not be like the image you have in your mind.
    There are no smoke-filled rooms with fast-talking reporters and editors hovered over desks arguing over the best angle to take on a breaking story.

    January 24, 2014