Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

June 29, 2011

Cherokee County good ol’ boys

JACKSONVILLE — The “Good Ol’ Boys” continue to demonstrate their animosity and unprofessionalism when it comes to addressing items on the Court’s agenda submitted by Commissioner Katherine Pinotti, Precinct 3.

During the June 27, 2011, Commissioner’s Court meeting, Commissioner Pinotti attempted to obtain approval of Precinct 3’s annual Road Report required by State law. The issue died because of no second. Judge Chris Davis rudely squelched Commissioner’s Pinotti’s request for an explanation why Commissioner’s Court remained silent.

What Commissioner’s Court did was ignore the Transportation Code law detailed in 251.005 – Commissioner’s Road Report. This law originally came into existence during the 74th Legislature in SB 971. The language was changed from a monthly report to an annual report during the 75th Legislature in SB 1391, SB 205, and HB 2266.

The bill analysis for SB 205 states “that the county auditor reports to the State Comptroller expenditures required by the constitution or other law spent on public roads or highways used in the preceding county fiscal year and sets forth requirements for distribution of funds to a county.”

Why County Judge Chris Davis and Commissioner’s continue to remain obstinate and arrogant is stifling. Why County Judge Chris Davis and Commissioner’s willingly and wantonly disregard the law is incredulous.

If you don’t care, then vote these juveniles back into office. If you do care, then vote to elect mature, professional officials who will serve the people who elected them to office.

Josie Schoolcraft,

Rusk

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Eating healthy is about making good choices

    There's a four-letter word I've been trying to avoid, but I don't think I can do so any longer.
    D-i-e-t.

    July 22, 2014

  • The biggest risk to your retirement income

    I started helping people plan for retirement over 30 years ago. It certainly was a lot simpler than. Many people had some type of pension plan from the company they had worked for over 30 years that guaranteed them a paycheck for the rest of their life.

    July 11, 2014

  • The little things make a big difference

    The little things in life make a big difference.  This is especially true in adopting a healthy lifestyle.  People often think of healthy living in terms of big changes that they need to make.

    July 2, 2014

  • Change is needed for progress

    Change. It's a dreaded word for some, but I see change as an opportunity to make certain aspects of a situation better than they were before.

    June 20, 2014

  • Death of a family member checklist

    Losing a loved one is obviously a very emotional experience. The first thing I tell people is nothing immediately has to be done from a business standpoint.

    June 13, 2014

  • Reasons to love your cane

    When I first started making canes and walking sticks as a hobby, the idea of having to use one myself was not in the forefront of my mind. Canes, I thought, were for older people; people who had difficulty in walking.

    June 7, 2014

  • The Tomato: Vegetable or fruit?

    As a dietitian and nutritionist, I have often heard this question “Is a tomato a vegetable or a fruit?”  If you have studied botany you know that all seed bearing plants are botanically classified as fruits.

    June 4, 2014

  • What’s new in the world of higher education?

    For the 2013-2014 school year, the average cost at a 4-year public college is $22,826.
     The average cost at a private college is $44,750, although many private colleges charge over $60,000 per year (Source: The College Board, Trends in College Pricing 2013).

    May 10, 2014

  • Don’t forget to remember those in the military this month for Memorial Day

    On Memorial Day, our country will remember the military men and women who gave their lives serving our nation.

    May 2, 2014

  • Hoisting flags and honoring family

    While searching our syndicated columns to fill this space, I realized ... it's probably time for me to say a few things.
    A lot has been happening lately, professionally and personally.

    April 18, 2014