Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

June 29, 2011

Cherokee County good ol’ boys

JACKSONVILLE — The “Good Ol’ Boys” continue to demonstrate their animosity and unprofessionalism when it comes to addressing items on the Court’s agenda submitted by Commissioner Katherine Pinotti, Precinct 3.

During the June 27, 2011, Commissioner’s Court meeting, Commissioner Pinotti attempted to obtain approval of Precinct 3’s annual Road Report required by State law. The issue died because of no second. Judge Chris Davis rudely squelched Commissioner’s Pinotti’s request for an explanation why Commissioner’s Court remained silent.

What Commissioner’s Court did was ignore the Transportation Code law detailed in 251.005 – Commissioner’s Road Report. This law originally came into existence during the 74th Legislature in SB 971. The language was changed from a monthly report to an annual report during the 75th Legislature in SB 1391, SB 205, and HB 2266.

The bill analysis for SB 205 states “that the county auditor reports to the State Comptroller expenditures required by the constitution or other law spent on public roads or highways used in the preceding county fiscal year and sets forth requirements for distribution of funds to a county.”

Why County Judge Chris Davis and Commissioner’s continue to remain obstinate and arrogant is stifling. Why County Judge Chris Davis and Commissioner’s willingly and wantonly disregard the law is incredulous.

If you don’t care, then vote these juveniles back into office. If you do care, then vote to elect mature, professional officials who will serve the people who elected them to office.

Josie Schoolcraft,

Rusk

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Local reviews ‘Tomato Republic’

    On April 9, I had the privilege and pleasure of seeing the world premiere of The Tomato Republic, a documentary movie about the 2013 Jacksonville, Texas, mayoral election. The film was entered in the Dallas Film Festival within the Texas subjects division.

    April 15, 2014

  • Don’t do it yourself

    After years of fooling with just about every do-it-yourself project imaginable, I finally came to a startling conclusion. Just about everything I can do for myself, or think I can, somebody else can do for me faster and better and cheaper as well. Starting at an early age, I tried to learn every known skill in order to become independent. The heartache and frustration resulting from such a stubborn urge knew no bounds.

    April 5, 2014

  • When push comes to Shuve

    Ever been to Shuve, Louisiana? Don’t feel like you’re by yourself. Lots of folks have never even heard of it, much less been there.

    March 1, 2014

  • The spice of life: Some seasonings have benefits

    In the 15th century, Europe was in search of the spice of life.  For them, salt was not enough.  They also wanted cinnamon, pepper, cumin, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  It was for spices that the Portuguese sailed around the southern tip of Africa to reach India.  During this time a pound of Ginger was equal in value to one live sheep.

    February 26, 2014

  • President’s Day celebrates leader who built country’s foundation

    This month we celebrate President's Day. George Washington, who is also known as the "Father of our Country,” is one that I admire the most.

    February 7, 2014

  • CVS tobacco decision gives hope

    Just as I was starting to think money ruled the world and everything in it, a national giant makes a move that will cost them $2 billion in annual revenue.

    February 6, 2014

  • The bra: Friend or foe?

    This is a nod to Women Inventors Month; not the best-known observance on the calendar, but worthy of recognition nevertheless.

    February 1, 2014

  • Chocolate and chilies contain vast health benefits

    February is a good month to talk about chocolate.  For most of us, chocolate means dessert, but it can also be an ingredient in savory dishes.  For example the flavorful mole sauce from the Mexican tradition is a different way to work in some healthy dark
    chocolate.

    January 29, 2014

  • Hard work and shining light on dark corners

    Newsrooms of today may not be like the image you have in your mind.
    There are no smoke-filled rooms with fast-talking reporters and editors hovered over desks arguing over the best angle to take on a breaking story.

    January 24, 2014

  • Thankful for chivalry of strangers

    From time to time, I remember to count my blessings, those moments of sweet grace knowing that The Big Guy always keeps an eye out for me by providing when I most need help.

    January 18, 2014