Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

August 13, 2011

Just ask Janet

JACKSONVILLE — There is an issue that must be addressed. Some won’t like it, but nevertheless it must be done.

The Jacksonville Daily Progress is a business. News is 24/7. Papers are transported in the evenings and on weekends and we need to have access to our parking lots and to our parking spaces at all times of the day, on all days of the week.

The parking lot facing the Tomato Bowl and the parking lot facing Prosperity Bank are not public parking, and yet they are being used as such to the point our employees cannot get in and out to conduct newspaper business, and have no place to park when they are here at the paper. Friday was one of many such instances since I came to work here.

There are public parking spaces available in front of our building. They are for the public to come in and conduct business with us, and secondarily for use in regard to business or events connected to our neighbors. But Friday our customers couldn’t find a place to park anywhere close to our building.

In addition, traffic through the empty field behind our building has grown to a point that it is being used regularly as a cut-through from East Commerce Street to East Rusk Street and vice versa. This field is private property belonging to one of our neighbors. It is not a road and neither it nor our parking lot should be used as through-ways.  

This column is serving notice now, that we will start taking down license plate numbers of those using our parking lot as a cut-through and we will be filing complaints with the police department. We will also soon begin towing anyone who is not an employee or contractor with this paper, who is parking in our parking lots on the East and West side of the building. The towing will be at the vehicle owner’s expense.

I will be a bulldog about this. You have been forewarned.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Eating healthy is about making good choices

    There's a four-letter word I've been trying to avoid, but I don't think I can do so any longer.
    D-i-e-t.

    July 22, 2014

  • The biggest risk to your retirement income

    I started helping people plan for retirement over 30 years ago. It certainly was a lot simpler than. Many people had some type of pension plan from the company they had worked for over 30 years that guaranteed them a paycheck for the rest of their life.

    July 11, 2014

  • The little things make a big difference

    The little things in life make a big difference.  This is especially true in adopting a healthy lifestyle.  People often think of healthy living in terms of big changes that they need to make.

    July 2, 2014

  • Change is needed for progress

    Change. It's a dreaded word for some, but I see change as an opportunity to make certain aspects of a situation better than they were before.

    June 20, 2014

  • Death of a family member checklist

    Losing a loved one is obviously a very emotional experience. The first thing I tell people is nothing immediately has to be done from a business standpoint.

    June 13, 2014

  • Reasons to love your cane

    When I first started making canes and walking sticks as a hobby, the idea of having to use one myself was not in the forefront of my mind. Canes, I thought, were for older people; people who had difficulty in walking.

    June 7, 2014

  • The Tomato: Vegetable or fruit?

    As a dietitian and nutritionist, I have often heard this question “Is a tomato a vegetable or a fruit?”  If you have studied botany you know that all seed bearing plants are botanically classified as fruits.

    June 4, 2014

  • What’s new in the world of higher education?

    For the 2013-2014 school year, the average cost at a 4-year public college is $22,826.
     The average cost at a private college is $44,750, although many private colleges charge over $60,000 per year (Source: The College Board, Trends in College Pricing 2013).

    May 10, 2014

  • Don’t forget to remember those in the military this month for Memorial Day

    On Memorial Day, our country will remember the military men and women who gave their lives serving our nation.

    May 2, 2014

  • Hoisting flags and honoring family

    While searching our syndicated columns to fill this space, I realized ... it's probably time for me to say a few things.
    A lot has been happening lately, professionally and personally.

    April 18, 2014