Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

September 17, 2011

Just ask Janet

JACKSONVILLE — I would like to thank everyone who has donated items to our fire departments throughout the county. We have had a good response and on Friday we distributed everything we have received so far. I know the firefighters are appreciative, not only to receive the items you gave, but also for the sentiments behind your gifts.

We are collecting items through the end of the month. We divide them as evenly as possible amongst all of the departments and then distribute them. It’s not too late to give. Items you can drop off at the Jacksonville Daily Progress are water, Gatorade, protein bars, snacks, lip balm and hand wipes. Some people have also donated eye drops and cool packs. Every little bit helps.

We are not accepting money here at the paper, but a number of other locations are, so if you want to give money, you can do so to the fire department of your choice or through County Commissioner Katherin Pinotti’s office. She is collecting and distributing cash donations to all of the fire departments in the county.

Again, thank you for your donations thus far. And please, keep our firefighters in your thoughts and prayers.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Local reviews ‘Tomato Republic’

    On April 9, I had the privilege and pleasure of seeing the world premiere of The Tomato Republic, a documentary movie about the 2013 Jacksonville, Texas, mayoral election. The film was entered in the Dallas Film Festival within the Texas subjects division.

    April 15, 2014

  • Don’t do it yourself

    After years of fooling with just about every do-it-yourself project imaginable, I finally came to a startling conclusion. Just about everything I can do for myself, or think I can, somebody else can do for me faster and better and cheaper as well. Starting at an early age, I tried to learn every known skill in order to become independent. The heartache and frustration resulting from such a stubborn urge knew no bounds.

    April 5, 2014

  • When push comes to Shuve

    Ever been to Shuve, Louisiana? Don’t feel like you’re by yourself. Lots of folks have never even heard of it, much less been there.

    March 1, 2014

  • The spice of life: Some seasonings have benefits

    In the 15th century, Europe was in search of the spice of life.  For them, salt was not enough.  They also wanted cinnamon, pepper, cumin, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  It was for spices that the Portuguese sailed around the southern tip of Africa to reach India.  During this time a pound of Ginger was equal in value to one live sheep.

    February 26, 2014

  • President’s Day celebrates leader who built country’s foundation

    This month we celebrate President's Day. George Washington, who is also known as the "Father of our Country,” is one that I admire the most.

    February 7, 2014

  • CVS tobacco decision gives hope

    Just as I was starting to think money ruled the world and everything in it, a national giant makes a move that will cost them $2 billion in annual revenue.

    February 6, 2014

  • The bra: Friend or foe?

    This is a nod to Women Inventors Month; not the best-known observance on the calendar, but worthy of recognition nevertheless.

    February 1, 2014

  • Chocolate and chilies contain vast health benefits

    February is a good month to talk about chocolate.  For most of us, chocolate means dessert, but it can also be an ingredient in savory dishes.  For example the flavorful mole sauce from the Mexican tradition is a different way to work in some healthy dark
    chocolate.

    January 29, 2014

  • Hard work and shining light on dark corners

    Newsrooms of today may not be like the image you have in your mind.
    There are no smoke-filled rooms with fast-talking reporters and editors hovered over desks arguing over the best angle to take on a breaking story.

    January 24, 2014

  • Thankful for chivalry of strangers

    From time to time, I remember to count my blessings, those moments of sweet grace knowing that The Big Guy always keeps an eye out for me by providing when I most need help.

    January 18, 2014