Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

October 23, 2011

Just ask Janet

JACKSONVILLE — This year, for the first time, the Marine Corps League is collecting toys in Cherokee County for needy children. All toys collected will remain in Cherokee County and go to Cherokee County children.

All recipients are screened by the United Way’s 211 screening program to ensure true need and to eliminate those who would take advantage of the Toys for Tots program. Anyone found to be taking advantage, will be dropped from the program.

The Marine Corps League was founded in 1923 by World War I hero, then Major General Commandant John A. Lejeune, for whom Camp Lejeune is named. It is the only veteran’s organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. That charter was signed and approved by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt on August 4, 1937.

The Jacksonville Daily Progress has partnered with the local chapter of the Marine Corps League to collect toys. We are one of a dozen or so collection sites set up throughout the county.

From now until December 22, we will be collecting new, unwrapped toys in our lobby. You can drop them off any time during normal business hours.

And, if you are an active duty Marine, or have been honorably discharged from that service, you should know the local chapter is pretty active in the community, and they are always looking for new members. You can contact them directly through Jr. Vice Commandant Stephen (Scooby) Hutson at scoobyusmc63@aol.com or 903-586-2106.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Hoisting flags and honoring family

    While searching our syndicated columns to fill this space, I realized ... it's probably time for me to say a few things.
    A lot has been happening lately, professionally and personally.

    April 18, 2014

  • Local reviews ‘Tomato Republic’

    On April 9, I had the privilege and pleasure of seeing the world premiere of The Tomato Republic, a documentary movie about the 2013 Jacksonville, Texas, mayoral election. The film was entered in the Dallas Film Festival within the Texas subjects division.

    April 15, 2014

  • Don’t do it yourself

    After years of fooling with just about every do-it-yourself project imaginable, I finally came to a startling conclusion. Just about everything I can do for myself, or think I can, somebody else can do for me faster and better and cheaper as well. Starting at an early age, I tried to learn every known skill in order to become independent. The heartache and frustration resulting from such a stubborn urge knew no bounds.

    April 5, 2014

  • When push comes to Shuve

    Ever been to Shuve, Louisiana? Don’t feel like you’re by yourself. Lots of folks have never even heard of it, much less been there.

    March 1, 2014

  • The spice of life: Some seasonings have benefits

    In the 15th century, Europe was in search of the spice of life.  For them, salt was not enough.  They also wanted cinnamon, pepper, cumin, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  It was for spices that the Portuguese sailed around the southern tip of Africa to reach India.  During this time a pound of Ginger was equal in value to one live sheep.

    February 26, 2014

  • President’s Day celebrates leader who built country’s foundation

    This month we celebrate President's Day. George Washington, who is also known as the "Father of our Country,” is one that I admire the most.

    February 7, 2014

  • CVS tobacco decision gives hope

    Just as I was starting to think money ruled the world and everything in it, a national giant makes a move that will cost them $2 billion in annual revenue.

    February 6, 2014

  • The bra: Friend or foe?

    This is a nod to Women Inventors Month; not the best-known observance on the calendar, but worthy of recognition nevertheless.

    February 1, 2014

  • Chocolate and chilies contain vast health benefits

    February is a good month to talk about chocolate.  For most of us, chocolate means dessert, but it can also be an ingredient in savory dishes.  For example the flavorful mole sauce from the Mexican tradition is a different way to work in some healthy dark
    chocolate.

    January 29, 2014

  • Hard work and shining light on dark corners

    Newsrooms of today may not be like the image you have in your mind.
    There are no smoke-filled rooms with fast-talking reporters and editors hovered over desks arguing over the best angle to take on a breaking story.

    January 24, 2014