Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

November 29, 2013

Linda McNew Chandler

JACKSONVILLE — Funeral services for Linda McNew Chandler, age 64, of Jacksonville are scheduled for 2:30 p.m. Saturday, November 30, 2013 at Autry Funeral Home Chapel in Jacksonville with Andy Cox and Robert Modisett officiating. Burial will be at Still Waters Memorial Gardens in Jacksonville. Our precious wife, mother, and grandmother, Linda Sue McNew Chandler, crossed over that beautiful river and into her Saviors arms, Tuesday, November 26, 2013. She was born June 5, 1949 in Jacksonville to R. H. (Bud) McNew Jr. and Dorothy Watson McNew. Linda attended Jacksonville High School. In her late twenties, she attended and graduated nursing school. This began a 31 year nursing career. She married George Chandler on October 30, 1999. Linda was a member First Baptist Church in Rusk. Her husband, children, and grandchildren were truly the joy and loves of her life. Her face would light up when she would talk about her grandchildren. They brought her incredible happiness and were her heart. She loved Jesus and would share Him at every opportunity. She was an incredible nurse and had a passion for taking care of others. She treated all of her patients with love and compassion. She touched the lives of the people she cared for and they came to love her. Everybody loved her. She had a true spirit whose kind heart, laughter, and incredible smile touched everyone who ever knew her. She was a beautiful person with a beautiful heart. Linda is preceded in death by her parents; Bud and Dorothy McNew, granddaughter, Abigail Grimes, brother-in-law, Robert Jack Cox. Survivors include her husband, George; sons, Scott Dee Grimes and wife Elisabeth, Bud Fletcher and wife Julie; stepchildren, George Chandler Jr. and Brenda, Todd Chandler and wife Kim, Cami Lyles and Chris Chandler; grandchildren, Ryan, Austin, and Alexis Grimes, Blake and Cassi Fletcher, Amanda, Jordan, Michael, Austin, and Madilyn Chandler, TJ, Mason, and Macey Lyles; sister, Gladys Cox; several nieces, nephews, great-nieces, and great nephews. Visitation will be from 6-8 pm Friday, November 29, 2013 at Autry Funeral Home in Jacksonville.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Hoisting flags and honoring family

    While searching our syndicated columns to fill this space, I realized ... it's probably time for me to say a few things.
    A lot has been happening lately, professionally and personally.

    April 18, 2014

  • Local reviews ‘Tomato Republic’

    On April 9, I had the privilege and pleasure of seeing the world premiere of The Tomato Republic, a documentary movie about the 2013 Jacksonville, Texas, mayoral election. The film was entered in the Dallas Film Festival within the Texas subjects division.

    April 15, 2014

  • Don’t do it yourself

    After years of fooling with just about every do-it-yourself project imaginable, I finally came to a startling conclusion. Just about everything I can do for myself, or think I can, somebody else can do for me faster and better and cheaper as well. Starting at an early age, I tried to learn every known skill in order to become independent. The heartache and frustration resulting from such a stubborn urge knew no bounds.

    April 5, 2014

  • When push comes to Shuve

    Ever been to Shuve, Louisiana? Don’t feel like you’re by yourself. Lots of folks have never even heard of it, much less been there.

    March 1, 2014

  • The spice of life: Some seasonings have benefits

    In the 15th century, Europe was in search of the spice of life.  For them, salt was not enough.  They also wanted cinnamon, pepper, cumin, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  It was for spices that the Portuguese sailed around the southern tip of Africa to reach India.  During this time a pound of Ginger was equal in value to one live sheep.

    February 26, 2014

  • President’s Day celebrates leader who built country’s foundation

    This month we celebrate President's Day. George Washington, who is also known as the "Father of our Country,” is one that I admire the most.

    February 7, 2014

  • CVS tobacco decision gives hope

    Just as I was starting to think money ruled the world and everything in it, a national giant makes a move that will cost them $2 billion in annual revenue.

    February 6, 2014

  • The bra: Friend or foe?

    This is a nod to Women Inventors Month; not the best-known observance on the calendar, but worthy of recognition nevertheless.

    February 1, 2014

  • Chocolate and chilies contain vast health benefits

    February is a good month to talk about chocolate.  For most of us, chocolate means dessert, but it can also be an ingredient in savory dishes.  For example the flavorful mole sauce from the Mexican tradition is a different way to work in some healthy dark
    chocolate.

    January 29, 2014

  • Hard work and shining light on dark corners

    Newsrooms of today may not be like the image you have in your mind.
    There are no smoke-filled rooms with fast-talking reporters and editors hovered over desks arguing over the best angle to take on a breaking story.

    January 24, 2014