Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

August 20, 2011

Just ask Janet

JACKSONVILLE — You just never know what’s going to happen from one minute to the next. Sunday evening I was in a car wreck at the intersection of Hwy. 69 and the loop. I have a fractured sternum, some cuts and bruising, and I’m very, very sore. My car is pretty messed up too, possibly even totaled. Due to our injuries, neither myself nor the driver of the other car were able to get out of our vehicles until we were taken out by the ambulance crews. But it could have been worse. Things can always be worse.

I want to take this opportunity to thank everyone who stopped at the accident scene to check on me and the two people in the other car who hit me. I don’t have everyone’s name, but to the witnesses who stuck around to talk to the police and the others who stopped to make sure everyone was all right, thank you, thank you, thank you.

To Keith and Kyle, my ambulance crew, thank you for being so sweet and patient and gentle.

To the emergency room crew at Trinity Mother Frances here in Jacksonville, thank you for being so empathetic and communicative with me.

And last but certainly not least, to Smith Brothers Wrecker Service, Jacksonville Insurance Agency and the other party’s representatives at Farmer’s Insurance – thank you for all of your assistance.

I have a way to go before everything is back to normal. But everyone has certainly been very kind and helpful.

I hope the other driver and his passenger are going to be OK as well. I know he has some significant injuries that will take a while to heal, but as I said earlier, it could have been a lot worse. And for that I am truly thankful.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Hoisting flags and honoring family

    While searching our syndicated columns to fill this space, I realized ... it's probably time for me to say a few things.
    A lot has been happening lately, professionally and personally.

    April 18, 2014

  • Local reviews ‘Tomato Republic’

    On April 9, I had the privilege and pleasure of seeing the world premiere of The Tomato Republic, a documentary movie about the 2013 Jacksonville, Texas, mayoral election. The film was entered in the Dallas Film Festival within the Texas subjects division.

    April 15, 2014

  • Don’t do it yourself

    After years of fooling with just about every do-it-yourself project imaginable, I finally came to a startling conclusion. Just about everything I can do for myself, or think I can, somebody else can do for me faster and better and cheaper as well. Starting at an early age, I tried to learn every known skill in order to become independent. The heartache and frustration resulting from such a stubborn urge knew no bounds.

    April 5, 2014

  • When push comes to Shuve

    Ever been to Shuve, Louisiana? Don’t feel like you’re by yourself. Lots of folks have never even heard of it, much less been there.

    March 1, 2014

  • The spice of life: Some seasonings have benefits

    In the 15th century, Europe was in search of the spice of life.  For them, salt was not enough.  They also wanted cinnamon, pepper, cumin, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  It was for spices that the Portuguese sailed around the southern tip of Africa to reach India.  During this time a pound of Ginger was equal in value to one live sheep.

    February 26, 2014

  • President’s Day celebrates leader who built country’s foundation

    This month we celebrate President's Day. George Washington, who is also known as the "Father of our Country,” is one that I admire the most.

    February 7, 2014

  • CVS tobacco decision gives hope

    Just as I was starting to think money ruled the world and everything in it, a national giant makes a move that will cost them $2 billion in annual revenue.

    February 6, 2014

  • The bra: Friend or foe?

    This is a nod to Women Inventors Month; not the best-known observance on the calendar, but worthy of recognition nevertheless.

    February 1, 2014

  • Chocolate and chilies contain vast health benefits

    February is a good month to talk about chocolate.  For most of us, chocolate means dessert, but it can also be an ingredient in savory dishes.  For example the flavorful mole sauce from the Mexican tradition is a different way to work in some healthy dark
    chocolate.

    January 29, 2014

  • Hard work and shining light on dark corners

    Newsrooms of today may not be like the image you have in your mind.
    There are no smoke-filled rooms with fast-talking reporters and editors hovered over desks arguing over the best angle to take on a breaking story.

    January 24, 2014

LOCAL MAGAZINE
Election 2012
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide