Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

Opinion
  • Not just who we are, but who we aspire to be

    Rarely in our country's history have non-elected officials had a profound effect on public policy. While rare, it does happen from time to time.

    January 15, 2012

  • Just Ask Janet: Update on circulation situation at JDP

    In keeping with my ongoing commitment to communicate with you about things at the paper, let me update you on our circulation situation.

    December 20, 2011

  • County budget discussion needs to begin soon

    When county commissioners were forming the current fiscal year's budget this past summer, there was a lot of talk.

    December 20, 2011

  • Silence from LMC can be deafening

    Each time there's news about a change at Lon Morris — whether it be the departure of an official or the delay of paychecks — the rumor mill in the area begins to fire up again.

    December 10, 2011

  • Transparent government a must for JEDCO, city

    The concept is simple — those who handle public funds should do so in as open and transparent a manner as possible.

    December 4, 2011

  • Just Ask Janet: Kudos to the engines behind the hit parade

    I went to the Christmas Parade Thursday night, and I am so tickled to tell you that it was wonderful! I say kudos to the Chamber of Commerce and all those who participated in the parade for making this year’s event so much fun.

    December 3, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    This year, for the first time, the Marine Corps League is collecting toys in Cherokee County for needy children. All toys collected will remain in Cherokee County and go to Cherokee County children.

    October 23, 2011

  • Don’t outsource tax collections

    Received my letter from the appraisal district, very alarming. It seems someone (little/flowers) is discussing to combine the appraisal district and the county tax office.

    October 23, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    This time last year I ran a survey in the paper asking you what you like and don’t like about the Jacksonville Daily Progress.

    October 8, 2011

  • County budget being handled wrong

    During the 2000s, Cherokee County had essentially zero dollars left in county funds — broke. The county government adopted a Need to Have concept to gail back financial stability. By the year 2006, the county funds were back to $6 million and sufficient funds to cover unforeseen emergencies. (Cherokee County needs $4 million to $5 million in reserves to achieve the 25 percent of annual operating budgets.)

    October 8, 2011