Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

Opinion
  • County budget being handled wrong

    During the 2000s, Cherokee County had essentially zero dollars left in county funds — broke. The county government adopted a Need to Have concept to gail back financial stability. By the year 2006, the county funds were back to $6 million and sufficient funds to cover unforeseen emergencies. (Cherokee County needs $4 million to $5 million in reserves to achieve the 25 percent of annual operating budgets.)

    October 8, 2011

  • Just Ask Janet

    Tuesday is my one year anniversary here at the paper and I had intended to write this week’s column about that. But the weather is so pretty outside that I think for just this one week, I will say to you all, read your paper and absorb and enjoy it, then go outside and enjoy the cooler temperatures and the beautiful fall weather.

    October 1, 2011

  • Bob Bowman’s East Texas

    When settlers from the U.S. poured into Texas following its independence and later statehood, they started slapping names on the places where they put down roots.

    October 1, 2011

  • Money talk with Matt Montgomery

    Selecting beneficiaries for retirement benefits is different from choosing beneficiaries for life insurance. While life insurance death benefits are not subject to federal income taxes, inherited retirement plans still carry their taxation provisions with them.

    September 19, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    I would like to thank everyone who has donated items to our fire departments throughout the county. We have had a good response and on Friday we distributed everything we have received so far.

    September 17, 2011 1 Story

  • Bob Bowman’s East Texas

    Throughout East Texas are hundreds of gospel music venues where people gather on weekends to hear songs that you’ll hear only in churches.

    September 10, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    Thursday we announced in the paper that the Jacksonville Daily Progress is serving as a collection and distribution point for donations to the county’s fire departments.

    September 10, 2011

  • Felma (Thelma) Session

    Services for Mrs. Felma (Thelma) Session, 91, of Elm Grove, will be at 1 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 10, 2011, at New Hope Baptist Church in Alto, with Elder Ray C. Williams officiating. Burial will be at Plain View Cemetery under the direction of Mercy/McGowan Funeral Home.

    September 8, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    You just never know what’s going to happen from one minute to the next. Sunday evening I was in a car wreck at the intersection of Hwy. 69 and the loop.

    August 20, 2011

  • Bob Bowman’s East Texas

    A few weeks back, we wrote a column about the origin of East Texas place names.
    A bunch of readers chastised us for leaving our the origins of their local names.

    August 20, 2011