Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

Opinion

Opinion
  • Just ask Janet

    There is an issue that must be addressed. Some won’t like it, but nevertheless it must be done.
    The Jacksonville Daily Progress is a business. News is 24/7. Papers are transported in the evenings and on weekends and we need to have access to our parking lots and to our parking spaces at all times of the day, on all days of the week.

    August 13, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    Discover East Texas
    The latest issue of Discover East Texas magazine is here and if you haven’t picked up your copy yet, you can do so at the following locations here in Cherokee County:

    August 6, 2011

  • Political discussions are not worth the fight

    I have a new personal policy: I will not discuss political ideology with my extended family, my friends, my colleagues or anyone else with whom I care to remain in good standing.

    August 6, 2011

  • Bob Bowman’s East Texas


    Texas historians have written volumes about Jim Bowie, who died at the Alamo, but what people remember most about him is a big hunting blade he carried--a weapon known in history simply as the Bowie Knife.

    July 30, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    First, a friendly reminder about the Chamber’s photo contest for the cover of the 2012 chamber magazine. We are running the rules and entry form each day in the paper.

    July 30, 2011

  • Movie review: Captain America

    Spud Nut,
    Captain America: The First Avenger (PG-13, 121 minutes) is the best Marvel comic book hero movie made since the debut of Iron Man in 2008. 

    July 23, 2011

  • Just ask Janet

    This week I want to tell you about a local photo contest coming up soon.
    As you probably know this paper partners with the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce on the Chamber’s annual membership magazine.

    July 23, 2011

  • Bob Bowman’s East Texas

    Sitting atop a scenic hilltop in southwestern Henderson County, Science Hill lasted only a few decades, but its reputation as a center of education is well-remembered by descendants of its founders and builders.

    July 23, 2011

  • Thanks to Kiwanis for displaying Old Glory

    Our United States flag, “Old Glory”, has become a powerful symbol of Americanism and our nation’s most widely recognized symbols and I for one feel the pride everytime I see it displayed.

    July 20, 2011

  • The Idle American

    With legitimate claims for nimbleness and quickness, they’d both be miserable failures on Jack’s final test--jumping over the candlestick. If they tried, they’d fail, leaving the candlestick “unwobbled.”

    July 20, 2011

LOCAL MAGAZINE
Election 2012
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide