Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

May 31, 2013

18-2A All-District Softball: Lady Tigers' Standley and Ross win big; Weeks Coach of the Year

Jay Neal
Jacksonville Daily Progress

TROUP — The recent announcement of the 18-2A All-District softball team revealed that a third of the superlative winners came form Troup, with an additional trio of Lady Tigers having procured spots onto the loop's First Team roll.

Catcher Katelyn Standley, the team's catcher, was named as the league's Co-Most Valuable Player (along with Harmony's Keirsten Seahorn), while pitcher Josee Ross, a sophomore was pegged as the Pitcher of the Year.

Troup head coach Samantha “Sam” Weeks was voted as  the district's Coach of the Year.

Standley, who has signed with Stephen F. Austin State University, led the Maroon and White in hitting, connecting at an impressive .550 (55-100) clip. She belted nine home runs and drove in 55 runs, both team highs as well.

Her 14 doubles and eight triples were also club bests.

Ross posted a record of 21-6 in the circle while fanning 300 opposing batters in 217.1 innings pitched. She had an earned run average of 1.22 and walked only 47 batters all year.

Ross held opposing hitters to a .173 battling average.

Infielders Caitlin Tomlin and Bethany Mason, both juniors, were First Team infield picks.

Tomlin hit .360 (40-111) while blasting three homers and tallying 30 RBI. She also racked up a .944 fielding percentage.

Mason topped out with a .379 (44-116) batting average.

Freshman Jordan Lynn was a First Team pick as outfielder. Lee Ann Lloyd and Ronni Boyer were named to the Second Team from Troup, while McKenzie Hugghins picked up an Honorable Mention honor.

Troup finished with a 28-8 record and was the District 18-2A champions.

Harmony also had three superlative award honorees.

Utility Player of the Year went to pitcher Courtney Matulis, while Mariah Goguen was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Jayden Mount of Sabine earned the Newcomer of the Year laud, while Frankston's Kaitlyn Staines was picked as the Catcher of the Year.

Tylia Sylestine of Harmony was named Defensive Player of the Year.