Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

October 19, 2012

Cross country: New Summerfield boys win Crockett Meet

Progress staff reports
Jacksonville Daily Progress

Crockett — Freddy Hernandez and Francisco Parra ran second and third, respectively, to help send New Summerfield to a gold medal finish in the Davy Crockett Pre-District Invitational (Class 1A-2A Division), held Wednesday in Crockett.

Coach Kent Willis' boys scored 106 points to narrowly defeat Martinsville, who had 108 points.

Elkhart (109) was a close third, followed by Neches (146) and Centerville (169).

Fourteen teams competed in the team standings, including Troup, who came in 11th place with 346 points.

Hernandez ran a 18:42.7, with Parra freezing the timer at 18:43.2.

Both young men are sophomores.

Central Heights' R. J. Burris was the first runner to break the tape.

The freshman ran a 17:56.4 to lead the field.

Troup's Logan Neel finished ninth (19:28.7).

Other New Summerfield participants and their placings were: Jordan Alexander (16th,19:55.0), Simon F. (19th, 20:06.9), Adrian Ornelas (71st, 23:41.5), Devin Abercrombie (96th, 25:48.1).

Elkhart (104), Shelbyville (116) and Zavala (148) were the top-three teams in the varsity girls team standings.

Cindy Medellin came in 59th (15:55.9) for the Lady Hornets, while Troup's Grace Richardson came in 64th (16:17.7).

Centerville's Lexie Wall garnered first place in the individual standings, completing the two-mile configuration in 12:52.2 to beat the runner-up, Sara Dugat (Zavala) by just over five seconds.

New Summerfield also won the junior high boys segment, finishing with 55 points.

Madisonville (76) was second and North Zulch (86) came in third.

Troup (159) finished sixth and Alto (170) came in 7th.

Noah Chapa, an 8th-grader from Anderson-Shiro, was the race winner, clocking a 8:45.1 for the one-mile test.

Marco Hernandez (6th, 9:55.8) was the first to finish for New Summerfield.

Troup's Ramon Martinez ran a 10:08.07 to come in tied for 10th.

New Summerfield will host the district meet, beginning at 9 a.m. Wednesday with the varsity girls run.