Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

January 11, 2013

High school football: Panthers place 6 on 16-3A All-District (first) team

Jay Neal
Jacksonville Daily Progress

JACKSONVILLE — Although the competition in the so-called “District of Doom” was brutally fierce, a half dozen of head coach Shannon Wilson's Bullard Panthers were voted onto the 16-3A All-District football team, which was released late Wednesday night.

In addition to the six young men that garnered First Team mention, another handful picked up Second Team mention.

The picks were determined by a vote of the league's head coaches.

Representing the Panthers on the First Team offense were Colton Mebane, QB; Holden Bryant, WR; Zack Holladay, TE; Trevor Rumbelow, OL; and Houston Alexander, UTL.

All of those young men are seniors.

On the defensive side Weston Gray, Sr., P; and Corbin Howard, Sr., special teams, joined Holladay, ILB and Bryant, DB; who were double winners.

District MVP honors went to A. J. Davis, a senior linebacker out of Kilgore.

Henderson's Patrick “Monsta” Brown, a senior athlete/quarterback walked away with the loop's Offensive MVP award and Xavier Fluellen, a senior defensive tackle from Gilmer was the Defensive MVP.

The Offensive Newcomer of the Year also came from Gilmer.

The laud went to Kris Boyd, a running back, who is a 10th-grader.

Gladewater's Daylon Mack was named as Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Mack is a sophomore defensive tackle.

Coaching Staff of the Year accolades went to the Gilmer staff; Jeff Traylor, head coach.