Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

December 24, 2013

Francis, Stingley, Ballew head Eagle cast of all-district recipients

Progress staff reports
Jacksonville Daily Progress

RUSK — A trio of Rusk Eagles have landed onto the 19-3A All-District squad as second team choices.

That list includes Isiah Francis, a sophomore running back, and seniors Vijay Stingley (safety) and Austin Ballew, who made it as an inside linebacker.

Josh Ruiz (defensive lineman) and Taylor Sturns (wide receiver) were honorable mention choices for the Eagles.

The league's Academic Ali-District unit included Bryce Hoffman from Rusk.

Undefeated distirt champion Fairfield dominated the superlative roll.

Larry Rose picked up District Most Valuable Player honor, Jacob Gallegos earned Offensive MVP praise and the Defensive MVP award went to Fairfield's Jeremiah Simpson.

Other members of the Fairfield team to take home black type mention were Charles Oliver (Defensive Newcomer), Kolton Gatson (Co-Outstanding Lineman) and Co-Special Teams Player of the year Devin Eggins.

In addition, the Fairfield coaching staff, along with head coach, John Bachtel, hauled in Coach of the Year plaudits.

Other superlative winners were, Jaylon Gipson of Mexia, who earned the Offensive Newcomer award, Brian Thlang of Palestine, who was the Co-Outstanding Lineman and Mexia's Danny Huckaby, who came away with Co-Special Teams POY lauds.