Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

March 20, 2013

Girl's Basketball: Troup's Ross earns superlative mention on 18-2A all-district team

Progress staff reports
Jacksonville Daily Progress

TROUP — Troup sophomore-forward Josee Ross was named as the 18-2A Offensive Most Valuable Player.

The league's premier team was assembled after a recent vote of the league's head coaches.

Keirsten Seahorn (Harmony) picked up the Most Valuable Player laud, with Sabine's Haley Stuart capturing the Defensive Most Valuable Player award.

Seahorn is a senior and Stuart is a junior.

Co-Newcomers of the Year were Bre Lemons (Fr., Hawkins) and Frankston sophomore Latesha Gray.

The loop also named Co-Coaches of the Year.

Quiana Conde (Hawkins), Keith Taylor (Sabine) and Harmony's Shari Seahorn all received the accolade.

Troup also placed a pair of young ladies onto the Second Team

Paeton Nolan and Chaney Clover were the recipients of those honors.