Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

March 22, 2013

NS Hornets reap plenty of post-season accolades

Progress staff reports
Jacksonville Daily Progress


The District 21-A-I champion New Summerfield Hornets racked up the post season awards. Austin Gray was named as the 21-A-I Co-District Most Valuable Player, an honor he shared with Zac Sturns of Alto. Angel Marroquin earned Defensive Player of the Year honors and Case Wilkerson was the loop's Freshman of the Year. Other award winners were, Ryan Weaver and Cameron Williams, who both nabbed First Team mention. Freddy Hernandez was a Second Team choice with Adrian Ornelas and Kiko Parra securing Honorable Mention lauds. New Summerfield head coach Jason Davis and Agustus Moore of Alto shared Coach of the Year honors. Pictured in top photo is Gray (dark jersey). Coach Davis is pictured in the above photo.