Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

December 19, 2013

10-A-I All-District Football: Three Yellowjackets earn superlative honors

Progress staff reports
Jacksonville Daily Progress



For years now Alto Yellowjackets and all-district football teams seem to compliment one another much like marshmallows and hot chocolate.

The 2013 season was no different as three members of head coach Paul Gould's Mean Sting picked up superlative honors.

In addition, Alto placed nine young men on the circuit's first team roll, with a heaping handful of 'Jackets being recognized on the second team as well.

Running back Jacolby Whitaker was named as the Offensive Most Valuable Player and place kicker Nicolas Leon picked up the Special Teams MVP award.

Both Whitaker and Leon are seniors.

Junior Willie Skinner (RB/OLB) took home Co-Newcomer of the Year lauds.

Named to the first team were, senior-quarterback Zac Sturns, JaVie'Ontae Mumphrey (WR), a junior, and wide receivers L'Darius Pope and Tyarius Hackett, who are also 11th-graders.

Senior Trent Curtis (OG) also was voted onto the first team.

Mumphrey was a unanimous choice.

On the defensive side, seniors Logan Smith (ILB), Armando Arroyo (DL), D'Anthony Richards (CB) and Mumphrey (OLB) were singled out.

Hackett (DE) and Pope (S) also came away with first team lauds.

Smith, Arroyo, Hackett and Pope were unanimous selections.

Second team offensive selections included Yellowjackets Jyran Shaw (RB), Luis Alvarado (OT), Richards (WR) and Arroyo [C].

Defensive players voted onto the second unit from Alto included Leroy Lewis (S), Curtis (DE) and Shaw (CB).