Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

December 28, 2012

Alto dominates 10-A-I superlative list

Progress staff reports
Jacksonville Daily Progress

ALTO — Several members of the Alto High School football team were recognized for their extraordinary performances during the recently completed 2012 season by earning places onto the 10-A-I All District Football team, which was compiled based on a vote of the league's head coaches.

Jacolby WHitaker, a junior, was named as the circuit's Most Valuable Player.

Whitaker, a big reason the Yellowjackets were able to carve out an 11-3 record and advance four rounds deep in the state playoffs, rushed for 2,696 yards and scored 39 touchdowns.

Other superlative awards were won by Tanner Jones (Offensive Lineman of the Year), Javie'Ontae Mumphrey (Defensive Lineman of the Year) and Tyarius Hackett (Co-Newcomer of the Year).

Jones is a senior, Mumphrey a junior and Hackett a 10th-grader.

San Augustine, the league's regular-season champion, cleaned up the majority of the remaining superlative honors.

The Wolves' senior running back Tony Hubbard was named as Offensive MVP, senior Ty'Aundra Taylor netted Special Teams MVP lauds while San Augustine mentor Donald Hubbard won Coach of the Year accolades.

Pineland West Sabine's Hunter Cabral, a junior, took home Defensive MVP honors, while Octavion Burrell,  a freshman out of Shelbyville, won Co-Newcomer of the Year.  

The Yellowjackets netted six young men onto the First Team on the offensive side.

Included in that number were, Zac Sturns, QB, Jr.; Anfernee Black, WR, Jr.; Armando Arroyo, C, Jr.; Trent Curtis, OG, Jr.; Kaleb Chapman, OT, Sr. and Nicolas Leon, PK, Sr.

A half dozen 'Jackets also picked up First Team defensive mention.

Chapman (DL), Black (CB) and Leon (P) were two-way winners, with Michael Taylor, ILB, Sr.; Logan Smith, OLB, Jr. and Leroy Lewis, S, Soph. also garnering rewards.

Jyran Shaw (RB), Arroya (DL); Lance Collins (OLB), D'Anthony Richards (CB) and Joe Cruz (S) were Second Team selections from Alto.

The Yellowjacket trio of Hunter Harwell (OL), David Beryman (WR) and Jonathan Pope (CB) were members of the loop's Honorable Mention unit.

The Yellowjackets were coached by Keith Gardner.