Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

March 22, 2013

Troup, Frankston stock 18-2A All-District team with top players and coaches

Progress staff reports
Jacksonville Daily Progress

TROUP — Student athletes from both Troup High School and Frankston High School comprised the bulk of the 18-2A All-District boys basketball team, which was determined by a vote of the league's coaches.

Richard Lacy, a Troup senior and Corey Warren, a Frankston senior, shared Most Valuable Player honors.

Sharing Coach of the Year accolades were Troup's Jody Sorey and Robert Loper of Frankston.

Sorey led the Tigers for the first time, while Loper, who resides in Jacksonville, reached the 800-career win milestone earlier this year.

Blake Lynch of Troup came away with the Newcomer of the Year award. Lynch is a 10th grader.

Offensive MVP lauds went to Noah Burwell, a Hawkins junior.

First Team representatives from Troup included Shaquille Rollins and Bradley Stewart.

Garnering Second Team mention was the Tigers' Hunter Clark.

Troup's Wesley Thompson was named to the Honorable Mention squad.