Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

November 26, 2012

District 16-3A volleyball awards: Bullard's Fish named Most Valuable Newcomer

Jay Neal
Jacksonville Daily Progress

BULLARD — Bullard High School volleyball was well represented on the 16-3A All-District team, with six young ladies named to the league's recently announced premier squad.

Mackenzie Fish led the parade by nabbing Most Valuable Newcomer award.

Meredith Daly was named to the First Team, while Madison Hodges and Bri Ridgley garnered Second Team recognition.

Honorable Mention picks from Bullard included, Lexi Abercrombie and Ashley Searcy.

The Lady Panthers also burned the midnight oil in the classroom as 11 Bullard girls were included on the All-Academic team.

Named were, Abercrombie, Daly, Madison Davis, Fish, Hodges, Mallory McCoy, Ridgley, Searcy, Taylor Spiller, Emily Tekell and Hana Woyt.

In addition, Daly was lauded as a member of the Academic All-State team (94, or above, grade point average for high school career).

The Lady Panthers were coached by Ben Belshaw.

2012 District 16-AAA All-District Volleyball

Most Valuable Player:            Savannah Voelzke    (Spring Hill)

Most Valuable Hitter:            Tiarra Davis        (Henderson)

Most Valuable Blocker:            Maci Ritter        (Gilmer)

Most Valuable Setter:            Rachel Riestenberg    (Spring Hill)

Most Valuable Defensive Specialist:      Nichole Flores    (Kilgore)

Most Valuable Newcomer:        Mackenzie Fish    (Bullard)

Coach of the Year:                Karen Brundrett    (Spring Hill)

First Team All – District:

Aly Curtis        (Spring Hill)

Meredith Daly    (Bullard)

Dani Decherd    (Spring Hill)

Shaylee Fennell    (Gilmer)

Karley Free        (Henderson)

Jasmin Kullenberg    (Spring Hill)

Sarah Mendenhall    (Kilgore)

Shay Ross        (Chapel Hill)

Makayla Sikes    (Gilmer)

Katy Stephens    (Gladewater)

Brooke Towe        (Henderson)

Second Team All – District:

Tony Burks        (Kilgore)

D’Errica Campbell    (Chapel Hill)

Jacey Fleet        (Spring Hill)

Hannah Hayden    (Gladewater)

Madison Hodges    (Bullard)

KeAmbria Hunter    (Gladewater)

Ann Hollas        (Spring Hill)

Jessie Jacoby        (Gilmer)

Alexus Mayfield    (Chapel Hill)

Kami McCaw        (Henderson)

Annie Mehringer    (Kilgore)

Gigi Oglesby        (Gilmer)

Bri Ridgley        (Bullard)

Codie Whitehead    (Henderson)

Honorable Mention All – District:

Lexi Abercrombie    (Bullard)

Allison Akins        (Spring Hill)

Samone Barnes    (Henderson)

Mikai Brown        (Spring Hill)

Danielle Ford        (Chapel Hill)

Akeela Hadnot    (Gladewater)

Katie Hickey        (Gladewater)

Jasmin Jones        (Gilmer)

Sassy Meadows    (Gilmer)

Tessa Murray    (Spring Hill)

Ashley Searcy        (Bullard)

Taylor Stewart    (Kilgore)

Christa Thomas    (Henderson)

Schuyler Wages    (Chapel Hill)


Academic All – District: (Bullard picks only)

Lexi Abercrombie        (Bullard)

Meredith Daly        (Bullard)

Madison Davis        (Bullard)

Mackenzie Fish        (Bullard)

Madison Hodges        (Bullard)

Mallory McCoy        (Bullard)

Bri Ridgley        (Bullard)

Ashley Searcy    (Bullard)

Taylor Spiller        (Bullard)

Emily Tekell        (Bullard)

Hana Woyt        (Bullard)