Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX


May 13, 2014

City, school elections wrap up

Smith, Chavira, Devillier win in Jacksonville

JACKSONVILLE — Saying her heart was “in the schools,” retired educator Ann Chandler chose not to file for re-election to her city council seat, instead placing her hat in the Place 4 JISD school board race.

“I taught for 30 years, and have been on the school board before, and that's were my heart is,” she said earlier this year, upon filing for candidacy.

However, her public service – both in the school and the civic arena – comes to an end in June when she relinquishes her council seat to the winner of Saturday's election.

Chandler lost the school board race Saturday, receiving 372 votes to challenger Cassie Devillier's 404 votes.

According to Yvonne Bergert, administrative assistant to JISD superintendent Dr. Joe Wardell, the candidate receiving the most number of votes wins an election, even it it is only by one vote, therefore, no runoff elections are held.

On her Facebook page, Chandler congratulated DeVillier and Al Chavira, the Place 3 winner, urging her supporters to “support the new school board members in the coming year.”

Both DeVillier and Chavira will be sworn in during a May 19 meeting.

In his contest, Chavira received 328 votes, while incumbent Jimmy Brown received 291 votes and challenger Pamelia Franklin Adams garnered 114 votes.

In Jacksonville municipal races, Jackonville's Dist. 2 incumbent council member Jeff Smith retained his seat, garnering 84 votes to opponent Darrell Prcin's 26 and Kara Hancock's 42.

Smith – along with incoming Dist. 4 council member Aaron Swink – will be sworn into office during a June 10 city council meeting.

While an election was held for the Dist. 2 race, city leaders canceled the other race – allowable under state law –  after only one candidate applied to run.

The city council will canvass votes during a May 16 meeting, said City Secretary Betty Thompson.

In Rusk, school board members will meet at 6 p.m. tonight to canvass votes from Saturday's school trustee election, then after declaring results, swear in new board members, according to a meeting agenda.

Frank G. Dobrovolny, who garnered 169 votes in the election will serve an unexpired two-year term,

Opponents Tracy Session received 167 votes, and Sheila Bradley, 53.

Teresa Phifer – who received 226 votes – and John Hood – with 194 votes – were elected to three-year terms on the council. Opponent Bruce Bradley received 184 votes.

In the Troup mayoral race, incumbent John Whitsell lost his seat to challenger Bill Lacy, receiving 89 votes to Lacy's 110.

Lacy, along with Place 2 incumbent Joe Carlyle – who received 153 votes – and Place 5 incumbent Carole Wilson, with 145 votes, will be sworn into office during tonight's 6:30 p.m. city council meeting after votes are canvassed.

Votes will be canvassed and new members sworn in during a 6 p.m. meeting on May 19 of the Bullard ISD Board of Trustees.

In the Place 1 race, incumbent Tony Johnson held on to his seat, receiving 344 votes to opponent John Jacobs' 251, while in the Place 3 contest, Dr. John Alexander beat incumbent Richard Burrow, 336 votes to 250.

Dr. Fred Zachary was elected the Place 2 trustee, receiving 457 votes in Saturday's election. Originally a contested race, incumbent Brian Whatley withdrew from the race before election, according to school board officials.

Text Only