Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

November 22, 2013

Six file for primary election

Ben Tinsley
Jacksonville Daily Progress

JACKSONVILLE — CHEROKEE COUNTY – Six candidates — including a member of a secessionist group with roots in the Republic of Texas separatist movement of the 1990s — recently filed to run as Republicans in the March 4 primary election.

Probably the highest-profile candidate to file is Tammy Blair, a former candidate for Texas Senate, who has filed as a Republican to run against GOP incumbent Cherokee County Judge Chris Davis. Blair ran and lost in 2012 against State Sen. Robert Nichols, R- Jacksonville, for District 3 of the Texas State Senate.

Cherokee County Republican Party Chairman Jerry Rix confirmed Blair's candidacy Thursday. He also confirmed Craig Fletcher has filed for County Court At Law Judge; James Morris for Justice of the Peace Precinct 3; Rodney Wallace for Justice of the Peace Precinct 4; Carl Wayne Morgan for County Surveyor; and Karen Morris for Cherokee County Republican County Chairman.

Blair is currently listed as the Smith County coordinator for Texas Nationalist Movement led by Daniel Miller on the group's website, www.texnat.org.

The objective of the Texas National Movement, according to its website, is “the complete, total and unencumbered political, cultural and economic independence of Texas.”

The Texas Nationalist Movement — despite its evolution from one of the old Republic of Texas factions from the late 1990s to early 2000s — continues to disassociate from the former ROT confrontational tactics, instead opting for more political solutions.

In other political developments: Democrat Vera Foreman, incumbent Justice of The Peace in Precinct 4 in Cherokee County, recently filed for reelection.

Other GOP candidates, according to Rix, include:

• County Judge Chris Davis.

• Commissioner Precinct 2 Steven Norton.

• Commissioner Precinct 4 Byron Underwood.

• County Treasurer Patsy Lassiter.

• County Clerk Laverne Lusk.

• District Clerk Janet Gates.

• Justice of The Peace Precinct 2 Tony Johnson.

• Justice of the peace Precinct 3 Phillip Grimes.

• Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 Brenda Dominy.

Early voting for the March 4 general election starts on Feb. 18.

Candidates have until Dec. 9 to file for office.