Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX


February 4, 2014

Chandler seeks ISD seat

Filing continues for city council, ISD spots

CHEROKEE COUNTY — As of Monday, several candidates have tossed their name in the ring for municipal and school board elections slated this May in Cherokee County.

According to JISD officials, Ann Chandler is not seeking re-election to her city seat, but instead has decided to vye for the Place 4 spot – held by James Houser – on the local school board.

“My heart is in the schools: I taught for 30 years, and have been on the school board before, and that's where my heart is,” Chandler said of her decision to switch from a city to a school board position.

Also filing for Place 4 candidacy is Cassie Devillier.

School board trustee Place 3 – currently held by Jimmy Brown – also is up for election this May.

School board candidates have through 5 p.m., Feb. 28, to file for candidacy.

In Jacksonville, filing for seats on the local city council continues until 5 p.m. Feb. 28, according to City Secretary Betty Thompson.

Council seats for District 2 and District 4 are up for grabs.

Dist. 2 incumbent Jeff Smith has filed for candidacy, as has local attorney Arron Swink, who is seeking the Dist. 4 Council seat, currently being held by Chandler.

Elsewhere in the county:

• Alto – No one has filed for candidacy in contests for mayor or three seats on the Alto City Council. Mayor pro tem El Thacker filled a vacancy last year when then-Mayor O.T. Allen stepped down from the position.

Races for the positions on the local school board include two at-large positions held by Britton Tilley and Lionel Whitaker. Incumbent Tilley has filed for candidacy.

• Bullard – No one has filed for any of the three spots on the Bullard City Council up for grabs this spring. Seats are currently held by Shirley Coe, Melissa Sikes and Mark Maple.

Meanwhile, in local school board contests, Place 1 incumbent Tony Johnson and Place 3 incumbent Richard Burrow have filed for candidacy, while no one has yet filed for the Place 2 position held by trustee Brian Whatley.

• New Summerfield – No one has announced candidacy for council seats currently held by Billy Hall and Don Williams.

• Reklaw – No one has filed for Reklaw city races, where seats held by Mayor Harlan Crawford, Alderman #3 Betty Jackson and Alderman #5 Bob Parrott are up for election.

• Rusk – Three seats are up for election this May on the local city council. District 3 incumbent Don Jones, along with Dist. 4 incumbent Don Woodard and Dist. 5 incumbent Sam Florian, have all filed for candidacy. No other candidates have filed thus far.

No candidates have filed for either of two three-year positions on the local school board, currently filled by Bruce Bradley or Frances Long. Nor has anyone filed for a unexpired two-year-term to which David Fulton was appointed after board member Dana Young stepped down to assume an interim position as the Cherokee County Attorney.

• Troup – Incumbent candidates John Whitsell, mayor, and Place 2 Council member Joe Carlyle and Place 5 Council member Carole Wilson, each have filed candidacy for the May election; three positions are open on the Troup ISD board – Place 1, held by Andy M. Griffin Jr.; Place 2, held by Melissa Young; and Place 3, held by Bill Plunkett.

Incumbent Griffin has filed candidacy for the Place 1 seat.

• Wells – No filings have been posted for candidates seeking the mayor's seat – held by C.W. Williams – nor for three council seats held by Robert Kalka, Billie Petty and Rex Aycock. Meanwhile at the local school district, at-large positions up for election are those currently held by T. Wayne Montes – who has filed candidacy – and Donnie Carver.

Text Only