Daily Progress, Jacksonville, TX

March 1, 2014

School, city candidates line up ahead of filing deadline

Jo Anne Embleton
Jacksonville Daily Progress

CHEROKEE COUNTY — Several more individuals have thrown their names into the ring for upcoming school board and municipal elections before Friday's end-of-business-day deadline to file for candidacy.

In Jacksonville, a total of four individuals have filed for two spots coming up for election on the local city council. Incumbent Jeff Smith, along with candidates Darrell Prcin and Kara Hancock, have filed for the Dist. 2 seat, while Arron Swink is filed for the Dist. 4 position.

In local school board races, two seats are up for grabs. Filing for Place 3 are candidates Pamelia Adams, Jimmy Brown and Al Chavira; Ann Chandler and Cassie Devillier are running for Place 4 trustee.

Incumbents in Rusk municipal races were the only ones filing for candidacy, according to city officials, while the school board contest attracted additional candidates.

District 3 incumbent Don Jones, along with Dist. 4 incumbent Don Woodard and Dist. 5 incumbent Sam Florian, have all filed for city council seats up for election, while an unexpired two-year term on the local school board has attracted candidates Tracy Session, Frank G. Dobrovolny and Sheila Bradley.

Bruce Bradley – an incumbent – Teresa Phifer and John Hood have filed for two full three-year terms on the Rusk school board.

In Troup, Bill Lacy and incumbent John Whitsell have filed to run for office of mayor, while incumbents Joe Carlyle – Place 2 council member – and Carole Wilson, the Place 5 council member, have filed for re-election to the city council.

Local school board races – for which three positions are up for election – has attracted three candidates: Incumbents Andy M. Griffin Jr. has filed for the Place 1 seat and Melissa Young for Place 2, while Shane Jasper has filed for Place 3.

Three spots on the Bullard City Council are up for grabs, with incumbent Shirley Coe and candidates David C. Rhodes and Jason Hendrix running for election.

In the BISD board of trustees race, six individuals have applied for three spots on the board. In the Place 1 contest, incumbent Tony Johnson and John Jacobs filed for candidacy; the Place 2 race has attracted candidates Brian Whatley, the incumbent, and Dr. Fred Zachary; the Place 3 contest features incumbent Richard Burrow and Dr. John Alexander.

No candidates have filed for upcoming vacancies of Places 2 or 4 on the Cuney City Council, but Charles Cross has filed candidacy for Place 6, according to city secretary Brenda Lankford.

In uncontested races for seats on the New Summerfield city council, incumbents Billy Hall and Don Williams were the only two filing for candidacy. Meanwhile, only two candidates have filed for candidacy for two upcoming vacancies on the local school board: Michael Davis and J.B. Neeley.

A handful of incumbents have filed for re-election in municipal and school board races in Wells. Incumbent Mayor C.W. Williams and council members Billie Petty and Robert Kalka are seeking to retain their positions as city leaders, while incumbents Donnie Carver and T. Wayne Montes have filed for candidacy in the school board election, for which their seats are up for election.

Incumbents have also thrown their hats in the ring for the Reklaw municipal races: Mayor Harlan Crawford, Alderman #3 Betty Jackson and Alderman #5 Bob Parrott.

In Alto, incumbents Britton Tilley and Lionel Whitaker have filed candidacy for two at-large positions on the local school board that are up for election.