CHEROKEE COUNTY – Filing for candidacy in the March 2, 2020, primary election, begins Saturday, Nov. 9, and runs through 6 p.m. Dec. 9, according to the Texas Secretary of State website.

According to the Cherokee County Election Department, 11 county offices are up for re-election next November. They include those for sheriff, county attorney, county tax assessor-collector, 2nd District judge, district attorney, Precinct 1 commissioner, Precinct 3 commissioner and constables in all four Cherokee County precincts.

At this time, three people have announced their intention to run for Cherokee County Sheriff: Roy Cavazoz, Brent Dickson and Johnathan Rhodes. Sheriff James Campbell announced earlier this year that he will be retiring at the end of 2020, when his term expires.

Meanwhile, Dana Nolley Chancey has announced her candidacy for the county tax assessor-collector position, while incumbent Cherokee County Precinct 1 Commissioner Kelly Traylor has announced his bid for re-election.

All candidates will need to file with their party chairman to run for the March primary.

A candidate sign-up will be held Saturday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at Cherokee County's Republican Party Club Headquarters, 205 E. Rusk St. in Jacksonville. Chairman John Earle may be reached at or visit the Facebook page “Cherokee County Republican Party – Texas” to learn more.

Bill Crowley is chairman of the Cherokee County Democratic Party, and may be reached at 903-245-4851 or Online, visit or the Facebook page, “Cherokee County Texas Democrats (Club).” Their headquarters are at 807 S. Jackson St. in Jacksonville.

Recommended for you