Change was the theme of the 2008 presidential election, and change of another kind was the theme of Election Day Tuesday.

Locally, some of the biggest changes will be seen in the coming years for Jacksonville Independent School District.

With the passage of a $50 million bond will come a new campus each for East Side and Joe Wright elementaries.

Fred Douglass Elementary and Jacksonville High School will also receive renovations and additions to make the campuses more accommodating for current student numbers and future student growth.

In the northern part of the county, Bullard passed a proposition to allow restaurants in the city limits to sell alcoholic drinks to customers.

But a proposition to allow sales of such beverages for off-premises consumption by convenience and grocery stores failed.

Each proposition garnered only 17 votes total, though.

Few Cherokee County positions that appeared on Tuesday’s ballot will see much change.

The only incumbent seeking to reclaim their position this election who lost was Pct. 2 Justice of the Peace Teresa Phifer (D). The 1,234 votes she received were not enough to defeat her challenger, Tony R. Johnson (R), who received 1,555 votes.

Pct. 3 will also have a new justice of the peace as well. Incumbent James Morris (R) lost his bid for a place on the ballot for the county judge seat, forfeiting his ability to run to reclaim the JoP seat.

Phillip Grimes (R) will be sworn in to the seat in January, after defeating Democratic challenger Preston Meador 2,346 to 757.

Steven Norton (R) won the Republican bid for Pct. 2 commissioner in the primaries, defeating current Commissioner Kevin Pierce. No Democrats ran against him.

On state-level elections, Cherokee County voters threw their support behind GOP candidates. Local Republicans reclaiming their seats included Todd Staples (R) for commissioner of agriculture (75.47 percent); Robert Nichols (R) for state senator (89.34 percent); and Chuck Hopson (R) for state representative (73.78 percent).

In all other Cherokee County races on the ballot, incumbents took the night, including Chris Davis (R) for county judge; Craig A. Fletcher (R) for county court-at-law judge; Janet Gates (R) for district clerk; Laverne Lusk (D) for county clerk; Patsy J. Lassiter (D) for county treasurer; Carl Wayne Morgan (R) for county surveyor; Byron Underwood (D) for Pct. 4 commissioner; Brenda Dominy (R) for Pct. 1 justice of the peace; and Vera Foreman (D) for Pct. 4 justice of the peace.

Election Day 2010 saw a shift in the national tide of controlling parties.

While Democrats still retain the majority in the U.S. Senate with 52 seats, the GOP claimed enough House seats to become the majority — 240 total.

Republicans also now hold 29 gubernatorial seats nationwide. Even if Democrats were to fill the remaining four governor positions open, it would not be enough to claim a majority.

Recommended for you