In addition to being closed on Independence Day, Jacksonville city officials announced Monday morning that all city offices and departments also will be closed on Friday, July 5.

- - - -

Numerous entities throughout Cherokee County will observe the July 4 Independence Day holiday on Thursday, including the U.S. Postal Service and banking institutions.

Among the city offices closed for the holiday are those in Alto, Bullard, Cuney, Jacksonville, New Summerfield, Reklaw, Rusk, Troup and Wells. No trash agencies from these areas have reported changes in scheduled pick-up on for the holiday.

Cherokee County offices also will be closed on Independence Day, while the courthouse will remained closed an additional day – Friday, July 5 – to allow workers to make repairs in the building, according to Cherokee County Judge Chris Davis.

Jacksonville Progress offices will be closed Thursday, but will reopen for regular business hours on Friday.